Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 1st, 2010

Current Projects

I’m currently working on creating several different RTV molds. The idea behind this process is to create a mold that will cast a completed miniature wall section. Eventually I would like to have a plethora of walls that could be cast and could then be used interchangeably to create miniature buildings, that could be multileveled.

This is my first attempt at creating masters and molds, and quite frankly only my second attempt at creating a massive terrain project. (My first attempt was in painting, flocking, and adding much greater detail to heroscape tiles, the project came out great, but that’s another story for another time.)

I will hopefully have pictures forthcoming.

Read Full Post »

I have always been intrigued by building miniature terrain and items.  It began when I was around 11 years old.  I got a happy meal and in it was one of those toys that is propelled by slamming down on an air pump to send the toy skirting across the ground.  I amused myself for a bit, but then I realized I wanted something more, I wanted miniature terrain for my futuristic vehicle to zoom past.  So I got some paper, scissors and glue out and built a small diorama.  I even cut out miniature leaves that the vehicle could “kick up” as it drove over them.  When my dad got home from work I eagerly displayed my craft.  He thought it was interesting, but it really blew his mind when the leaves kicked up as the vehicle flew by.  I’ll never forget that day, if nothing else it proved to me that people are impressed by the details.

So, where am I now, and what is this blog all about?  Over the course of my life I’ve developed a taste for quite a few quirky hobbies, not the least of which is playing with miniature soldiers, fantasy, historical, sci-fi, they are all fun and amusing to me.  One of my favorite things about miniature combat is creating the miniature world that these creations will inhabit, and that, my friend, is what this blog will be about.  Miniature worlds, and the details and bits that are used to create them.

My creations are typically based around 28-30mm miniatures.  I hope to be able to use this blog to force myself to get better at my craft, maybe gather a few followers, and hopefully become part of a larger community of interesting, intelligent and crafty individuals.  If you stumble across my blog leave me a message.  Thanks and I hope that this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Read Full Post »